Dr. Markus Kaum

  • Attorney

Dr Markus Kaum, LL M (Cantab) is a German Rechtsanwalt (attorney at law) since 1991. He studied law in Regensburg, Munich and Cambridge, passed his 2nd state examination in 1990, and in 1992 his Master of Laws in Cambridge, England, and his Juris Doctor in Munich.
He has worked in London and Brussels for a first tier German law firm and joined Siemens AG as Head of Corporate and M & A Law in 1996. 2001 he moved to Infineon Technologies AG as Head of Corporate, Finance and Capital Markets Laws and in 2006 to Munich Re AG as Head of Corporate Governance, Company Law, Capital Markets and Finance Law, General Meeting and Retail Investor Relations. In December 2019 he joined Mariacher.

Markus Kaum is a leading expert in corporate governance, stock corporation and general company law, capital markets and finance law. He advises entreprises and investors in all aspects of governance, among those Dax 30 companies and start up companies which are on the going public path in structuring their corporate governance. He also advises investors, both institutional and private, from their governance and engagement guidelines to questions of exercising their shareholders rights with the goal of establishing a better governance at portfolio companies to create sustainable value. He uses a holistic approach which addresses the strengths and weaknesses of an entreprise in the concrete situation as well as the interests of stake holders to create the best solution for his clients.

His company law work is focussed on advising management and supervisory boards on „high end“ legal questions including investigations of management responsibility and providing expert opinions to the institutions of a stock corporation and/or its owners. Basis of this work ist the holistic approach which combines best legal quality with economic creativity and common sense of judgement. He also structures innovative management share and option plans which combine the incentive effect on the beneficiaries with the protection of the financial statements of the companies.

Markus Kaum is also a leading expert in European company and capital markets law with a focus on „post trade“, i.e. the legal questions around the cross border exercise of shareholders rigths and the provision of services by and for intermediaries. He is Chairman of the „Joint Working Group on General Meetings“ and is or was a member of several other European expert and working groups (e.g. the „Corporate Actions Joint Working Group“, the „Expert Group on Technical Aspects of Corporate Governance“ of the European Commission, the „European Post Trade Group“ and the „European Post Trade Forum“). His profound knowledge oft he European framework and landscape not only of all its legal aspects but also relevant market practices and voluntary rules are the basis of comprehensive and pragmatic advice to companies, investors and associations.

Markus Kaum advises private investors and family offices in the structuring of their portfolios and companies and the exercise of their owners rights. He also works on questions of succession planning and adequate solutions for complex family structures. One option he provides is individual support and mentoring (also in the legal sense) if this is asked for by private individuals.

Contact

Markus.Kaum@mariacher.de
+49 175 725 36 39

Markus Kaum

Expertise

  • Corporate Governance
  • Company Law
  • Capital Markets

Focus of Interest

  • Corporate governance advice for companies and sustainability-oriented investors
  • Management liability issues
  • Incentive plans and employee share plans

Dr. Markus Kaum

  • Rechtsanwalt

Dr. Markus Kaum, LL.M. ist Rechtsanwalt in München. Er studierte Rechtswissenschaften in Regensburg, München und Cambridge, England, machte 1990 sein 2. Staatsexamen, 1992 den Master of Laws in Cambridge und promovierte 1992 an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität zum Dr. jur. Er wurde 1991 zur Rechtsanwaltschaft zugelassen.

Er arbeitete in London und in Brüssel für eine führende deutsche Wirtschaftskanzlei und übernahm 1996 das Referat Gesellschaftsrecht und M & A bei der Siemens AG, wechselte 2001 als stellvertretender Leiter der Rechtsabteilung und Head of Corporate, Finance and Capital Markets Law zur Infineon Technologies AG und 2006 als Leiter Corporate Governance, Aktienrecht, Kapitalmarkt- und Finanzrecht und Hauptversammlung und Privatanlegerbetreuung zur Münchener Rückversicherungs-Aktiengesellschaft. Seit Dezember 2019 ist er als Rechtsanwalt bei Mariacher tätig.

Markus Kaum ist ein führender Experte in Corporate Governance, Aktien- und Gesellschaftsrecht und Kapitalmarktrecht. Er berät Unternehmen und Investoren in allen Fragen der Governance, darunter DAX-30 Unternehmen und Start-Ups, die neu an den Kapitalmarkt gehen, im Hinblick auf die Strukturierung ihrer Corporate Governance ebenso wie Investoren bei der Formulierung ihrer Governance & Engagement-Leitlinien bis hin zu konkreten Fragen der Ausübung ihrer Eigentümerrechte im Hinblick auf die Förderung guter Governance im Sinne nachhaltiger Wertsteigerung bei ihren Portfoliounternehmen. Dabei verfolgt er einen maßgeschneiderten Ansatz im Sinne der ganzheitlichen Beratung, der einerseits die Eigenheiten des Unternehmens und die konkrete Situation besonders würdigt, andererseits die berechtigten Interessen der jeweiligen „stake holder“ in die Lösung einbezieht.

Schwerpunkt der aktienrechtlichen Beratung ist die Unterstützung von Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat bei juristischen „high end“-Themen wie die Prüfung von Haftungsfragen und Erstattung von Gutachten für die Organe der Aktiengesellschaft oder ihre Eigentümer. Auch hier ist Basis der Arbeit der ganzheitliche Ansatz, der höchste juristische Qualität mit wirtschaftlicher Kreativität und Augenmaß verknüpft. Daneben entwickelt und strukturiert er innovative Options- und Mitarbeiterbeteiligungsprogramme, die Anreizwirkung für die Berechtigten mit Bilanzschonung für die Unternehmen verbinden.

Markus Kaum ist ebenfalls ein führender Experte im europäischen Gesellschafts- und Kapitalmarktrecht mit Schwerpunkt „post trade“, d.h. die rechtlichen Fragen bei der grenzüberschreitenden Ausübung der Aktionärsrechte und Erbringung aller Dienstleistungen von Intermediären und anderen dafür. Er ist Chairman der „Joint Working Group General Meetings“ und ist oder war Mitglied in anderen europäischen Experten- und Arbeitsgruppen (z.B. „Corporate Actions Joint Working Group“, „Expert Group on Technical Aspects of Corporate Governance“ der EU-Kommission, der „European Post Trade Group“ und des „European Post Trade Forum“). Diese profunde Kenntnis des europäischen Rahmens nicht nur im Hinblick auf die rechtlichen Grundlagen sondern vor allem auch die nicht kodifizierten Marktpraktiken und freiwilligen Regelungen ist Grundlage der umfassenden und pragmatischen Beratung von Gesellschaften, Investoren und Verbänden in diesem Bereich.

Schließlich berät Markus Kaum Privatanleger und „Family Offices“ bei der Strukturierung ihrer Beteiligungen, auch im Hinblick auf Nachfolgefragen und adäquate Lösungen für komplexe Familienstrukturen, und der Ausübung ihrer Eigentümerrechte. Dazu zählt auch die Option der individuellen und wertschätzenden Betreuung (im juristischen wie im übertragenen Sinn), wenn Privatpersonen dies wünschen. Leitlinie aller Beratung ist immer die vollständige Erfassung der Situation, aller betroffenen Interessen und die Umsetzung der jeweiligen unternehmerischen Ziele. Dies erfordert meist kreative Lösungen.

Kontakt

Markus.Kaum@mariacher.de
+49 175 725 36 39

Markus Kaum

Tätigkeitsschwerpunkte

  • Corporate Governance
  • Aktienrecht / Gesellschaftsrecht
  • Kapitalmarktrecht

Interessensschwerpunkte

  • Corporate Governance Beratung für Unternehmen und an Nachhaltigkeit orientierte Anleger
  • Organhaftungsfragen
  • Incentive Pläne und Mitarbeiterbeteiligungsprogramme